nomadlaunch.blogg.se

Longines watch identifier 1950s
Longines watch identifier 1950s






Some indication of extensive grinding/polishing having been done. The tops of the lugs look to have been extensively refinished as they don't look uniform from one lug to another. Speaking of the case, it looks like it might be from an early 1960's Conquest, based on the overall shape - particularly the side of the case and lugs, but I am not sure as I don't have an early 1960's Conquest in my collection and your watch doesn't have the Conquest medallion on the caseback. The handset doesn't really match the case, in my opinion, either, though it does match the dial, suggesting that the dial and handset have possibly been re-cased into a later case.

longines watch identifier 1950s

TBH, I am not sure what it signifies? Case style, perhaps? Case material? My 1956 stainless steel Conquest has "719" in that location but none of the other four - non-Conquest - Longines that I have from the 1950's/early 1960's have it). The case looks genuine (the three digit number on the underside of the 11 o'clock lug is a feature of the Longines All-Guard and later Conquest watches from that era. Black dial watches from the 1950's are rare - though not unheard of, so I could be wrong - and the white print ("Longines" for example) in your photos looks quite uneven and rough compared to an original Longines dial from the time period.

longines watch identifier 1950s

I suspect that the original dial was white or silver or cream.








Longines watch identifier 1950s